The Best Dasha in Vedic Astrology- Vimshottari Dasha and its calculation

Indian Astrology | 15-Dec-2022

Views: 4574

How do you calculate the timing of an event in Vedic Astrology? An astrologer may predict various things about your life through your birth chart. The happening of any event depends upon the dasha system. We may be sure we will get married, but at what age and time? It will be predicted using the dasha system. In Vedic astrology, there are more than 40 kinds of dashas. But the most popular and widely utilized dasha system is the 'Vimshottari Dasa System'. As per Sage Parashara-

“दशाबहुविधास्तासु मुख्या विंशॊत्तरी मता”

It states that Vimshottari dasha is the most appropriate dasha to predict accurate events. Nowadays, we use astrology software to calculate dasha and antardasha in a few seconds. But the best astrologer should know to perform the calculations manually as well.

The Vimshottari dasha is widely used, and it is useful to know the method of its calculation. As per the Vimshottari Dasha system, the lifespan of a native is assumed to be of 120 years. The ancient texts prescribe the normal lifespan of a person to be 120 years in Kaliyuga. In astrology, there are nine planets viz. Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu. The life span of 120 years has been divided in the form of dasha among these planets.


Discover Your Life Predictions With Brihat Horoscope Report

Calculation of Vimshotatri Dasha System

The Vimshottari dasha system is wholly based upon the position of the Moon in different nakshatras. The whole zodiac of 360° is divided into 27 nakshatras. Nakshatras are a part of the zodiac signs, and each Rashi or sign consists of 2 and a quarter of nakshatras. In all, 12 rashis consist of 27 nakshatras. The planets travel through these constellations/nakshatra. The nakshatra in which the natal Moon of a person is present is called janma nakshatra or the birth star of the native. The janma nakshatra is essential to know which dasha a person takes birth in. Various planets are the lords of various nakshatras. A specified number of years have been assigned for the dasha of each nakshatra.

Each nakshatra extends up to 13°20' and has four four padas or parts. Each pada spans up to 3°20' of the zodiac. One should know the position of the Moon in the birth chart in terms of nakshatra to calculate Vimshotatri dasha. 

In the Vimsottari dasha system, all the planets have a certain number of years allotted in a total of 120 years. The span of 120 years means one cycle of dasha, so a person goes through only one cycle of vimshotatri dasha. There are three nakshatras under the rule of each planet. The constellations and years allotted for each planet are as follows-

Ketu - Aswini, Magha, and Moola nakshatra – 7 years

Venus - Bharani, Purva Phalguni, and Poorvashadha nakshatra – 20 years

Sun- Krittika, Uttara, and Uttarashada nakshatra – 6 years

Moon - Rohini, Hasta, and Shravana nakshatra – 10 years

Mars - Mrigasira, Chitra, and Dhanista nakshatra – 7 years

Rahu - Ardra, Swathi, and Shatabhisha nakshatra – 18 years

Jupiter - Punarvasu, Vishakha, and Poorvashadha nakshatra – 16 years

Saturn - Pushya, Anuradha, and Uttarabhadra nakshatra – 19 years

Mercury - Ashlesha, Jyeshta, and Revathi nakshatra – 17 years

Different planets have an unequal number of years, and the dasha sequence runs from Ketu to Mercury. Every planet has three nakshatras assigned to it. At the time of the native's birth, the nakshatra in which the Moon is placed becomes the janma nakshatra. The lord of that nakshatra will become the lord of the first dasha for the native. E.g., If the Moon is in the nakshatra of Venus (Bharani, Purva Phalguni, and Poorvashadha), the starting dasha will be Venus. After that, the sequence of dasha starting from the Sun will follow. The janma nakshatra is essential for kundali matching also. One should consider the janma nakshatra to find out a person's personality traits. So this way, we determine the starting dasha for an individual. 

The running dasha lord controls the current event in a person's life during its span. E.g., if Ketu is the dasha lord, it will control the events for seven years in the native's life. At this time, if Ketu is good in the chart, the native will get good results and vice-versa. The position of Ketu has to be checked not just in the lagna but navansha chart too. Now, a person will not get the same results for seven years, and the Antardasha will also show its results. There will be an Antardasha of all nine planets within the Mahadasha of Ketu. Each Antar dasha will bring different results in the native's life. 

The first Antar dasha will be of the Maha dasha lord only. After that, the dasha sequence will go in the same order. Therefore in Venus Mahadasha, the first Antardasha will be of Venus itself, and then the Sun, and so on. After that, the Antardasha is divided into smaller fragments called Pratyantar Dasha, Sookshm Dasha, and Prana Dasha. The dasha is divided up to such smaller fragments that we can get the result up to days or even hours through free kundli


Also Read: Know the best and worst zodiac signs in 2023


Maha Dasha calculation

An astrologer must first check which nakshatra the Moon is placed at the time of birth. There are two and a quarter nakshatras in each sign; thus, one can assess from the degree of the Moon how many nakshatra or its pada has crossed. Hence the astrologer needs to find out the elapsed longitude of the Moon in a particular nakshatra to find out the remaining balance of dasha for the native. Hence, we need to work out the balance period of the nakshatra yet to be covered by the Moon.

E.g., a native is born with a Moon having a latitude of 23°56' in the Gemini sign. The nakshatras in the Gemini sign are Mrigasira, Ardra, and Punarvasu. The first 20 degrees of the Gemini sign are covered by Mrigasira & Ardra, and the remaining 10° will consist of three padas of the Punarvasu star. Therefore, we can estimate that the Moon is placed in Punarvasu nakshatra. So, the first running dasha will be of Jupiter, the lord of Punarvasu nakshatra. Since the Moon has already covered 3°56' in Punarvasu star, some period has already been completed. 

Each star will cover 13°20' or 800' (13*60+20) of the arc. Moon has already crossed 3°56' (or 3*60+56=236') in Punarvasu nakshatra. So the balance of Punarvasu nakshatra is 800’-236 = 564'. The lord is Jupiter which has 16 years of dasha period. We will multiply 564 by 16 and divide the product by 800. The remaining dasha of Jupiter will be 11.28 years.


Get Solutions For Your Problems, Talk to Astrologer Now