Concept of Indian Philosophy In the Eyes of Astrology

Future Point | 01-Jan-2014

Views: 2852

Shubhesh Sharman, Delhi

One of the important schools of Indian Philosophy depicts the goal of life as the attainment of Purushartha Chatushtaya i.e. Dharma (Duty), Artha (Money), Kama (Sex) and Moksha (Salvation). The last of the these has been termed as Param Purusthartha to be the final (salvation) attainment of the human life. However, it has been keenly envisaged in the realm of vedic tradition that for a balanced, systematic and meaningful life, all the goals should be attained gradually by the human being. One without the other is incomplete.

Dharma shows the codified form of civilized life containing morals and harmony as well as peace as the main ingredient of culture and religion, which is a far fetched dream without the Artha (money). Artha comprises Sri and Samridhi (prosperity) which enrich an individual, a community and a nation as envisaged in Vedic recitations and prayers like 'Srisukta'. Kama (Sex) which is also part and parcel of human existence, incorporating all the drives, motivations and urge within to be the fastest in this creation opens the many doors of mundane chores(Luxuries). The moksha, Kaivailya or final salvation is the last but not the least. It is like becoming the full without any deprivation.

These four pillars of life are to be maintained simultaneously. Our life on this planet is not by default. On the contrary, we are here as part of bigger scheme of things. Certain purpose is there and it is quite preordained. The wheel of destiny runs by the force of three different types of Karmas i.e. Sanchit, prarabdha and Kriyamana. Hindu mythology completely ratifies the doctrine of rebirth and the life and death cycle. Some part of our destiny is regulated by Kriyamana Karma, which is under our control and command and an ample force on the wheel of destiny can be exercised by taking care of our present deeds i.e. Kriyaman Karma. Some measures adopted with conviction and honesty as per the dictates of the shashtras can change the mould of our Sanchit (Accumulated) and Prarabdha also.

Astrologically also, we understand that by deep probe of a natal chart wheel of destiny in the context of all the three sanchit, prarabdha and kriyaman can be deciphered that is to say we can have a peep into our past lives also and can have an inkling of our future births also.

The twelve houses of a horoscope can be explained in the light of Purushartha-Chatushtarya also.

Dharma - First, Fifth, Ninth House.

Artha - Second, Sixth, Tenth House.

Karma - Third , Seventh, Eleventh House

Moksha - Fourth, Eighth, Twelfth House.

We delineate past good deeds by considering the fifth house and its lord. Ninth house and its lord also tell us about the religious inclinations and lagna and its lord always signify the Atman, the self.