The Second day of Navratri – Goddess Durga as Devi Brahmcharini

Indian Astrology | 16-Mar-2024

Views: 538

In Hindu traditions, Navaratri is a popular festival that is celebrated by devotees all over the country. People worship Goddess Durga and her nine forms during the festival. The goddesses are also known by the names like Devis, Mata and Maa across India and Nepal. Each of the nine forms is given a specific name and has a significance attached. One should know about all nine forms of the goddesses to understand their religious and cultural significance. Maa Durga symbolizes Shakti and is a source of energy within. Devotees worship Maa Durga and her nine incarnations to get prosperity and success in life. We will give you detailed information about the Navdurga, or nine incarnations of the Goddess. Here, we will write about the second incarnation or form of Goddess Durga- Devi Brahmcharini.


Also Read: Chaitra Navratri 2024: A Complete Guide


Devi Brahamcharini- description as per scriptures

On the second day of Navratri, people worship Goddess Brahmacharini. In Hindu scriptures, she is mentioned as an incarnation of Goddess Durga. The Goddess has nine forms, and she represents the second avatar. Devi Brahamcharini represents the young age of Goddess Parvati when she performed austerity to get Lord Shiva as her husband. In ancient texts, she was named Tapah charini, the one who lived amidst penance or dedicated herself to austerities. In other Puranas, her names are Kanyaka, Kumari, and Tapasvini, which closely signify Brahamcharini Maa. The name is associated with the phase of life of doing tapa or sacrifices.

Devi Brahamcharini- A brief overview

Brahmacharini is the second incarnation of Goddess Durga, and is worshipped on the second day of Navaratri. Devi Brahamcharini represents a devoted female student who resides with her Guru and other students in an Ashrama. Brahmacharini is an aspect of Parvati and wears white attire. In her right hand, she holds a japamala, while in her left hand, she carries a Kamandal.

Kundalini and Goddess Brahamcharini

Kundalini is a concept in Hinduism, and yoga represents dormant energy located at the base of the spine. When awakened through spiritual practices like yoga and meditation, this energy rises through the chakras, leading to spiritual awakening and enlightenment.

Goddess Brahmacharini, the second form of Navadurga, is associated with spiritual growth and discipline. Goddess Brahmacharini is associated with the Svadhisthana chakra, also known as the sacral chakra. This chakra is located in the lower abdomen, just below the navel. It is linked to creativity, passion, and emotional balance. As Brahmacharini represents discipline, devotion, and spiritual growth, her energy resonates with the qualities associated with the Svadhisthana chakra, facilitating inner transformation and harmony. In this context, Kundalini energy aligns with the spiritual journey of Goddess Brahmacharini, as both involve awakening and climbing inner divine energy towards higher consciousness.


In several depictions, Devi Brahmacharini is shown holding an Akshamala in her right hand and a Kamandal in her left hand. Please note that Akshamala is a string of beads that allows for the recitation of Japa from the letters Aa to Ksha. It is a unique type of rosary or Japamala, different from the standard ones. In various depictions, Brahmacharini Mata wears jewelery of lotus like earings and necklace. She is often depicted near lotus ponds or holding lotus flowers. The lotus symbolizes spirituality and rising above, which reflects Brahamcharini Devi's devotion to tapas.


Brihat Horoscope For All The Valuable Insights Into The Future!


Story of Goddess Brahamcharini

In one version of the story, Parvati, a young maiden, decides she wants to marry Shiva. Even though her parents try to discourage her, she stays determined and performs intense meditation for about 5000 years.

Meanwhile, the gods, who were troubled by a demon Tarkasur, ask Kamadeva, the god of love, to make Shiva desire Parvati. They wanted Lord Shiva to marry Parvati because demon Tarakasur could be killed by the son of Lord Shiva and Parvati. Kamadeva shoots Shiva with his love arrow, but Shiva becomes angry and burns Kamadeva to ashes with his third eye.

Parvati decides to live like Shiva, practising asceticism and meditation in the mountains. This aspect of Parvati is called the goddess Brahmacharini. Shiva becomes interested in her and tries to discourage her by pointing out his flaws, but Parvati remains determined.

During her meditation, the demon Prakandasura attacks Parvati with his army. Even though other goddesses try to help, they are outnumbered. Eventually, Parvati's tapas (meditation) becomes so powerful that she destroys the demon with her fiery gaze.

Despite impressing everyone with her devotion, Shiva still doesn't come to Parvati. Finally, he visits her in disguise as a Brahmin. He tests her with riddles, which she answers correctly. Impressed by her intelligence and beauty, Shiva reveals his true form and accepts Parvati as his wife, breaking her meditation. Throughout her meditation, Parvati sustained herself by eating belpatra leaves and drinking river water.


To Know Anything Related To Your Career, Talk To The Best Astrologers


Divine blessings of Brahamcharini Mata

Since Devi Brahamcharini signifies the acetic form of the goddess Parvati. Her blessings give the devotees higher wisdom, purity, determination, love, and affection. The devotees can fulfil their desires of spiritual attainment, higher intellect, wisdom and success. Just like Devi Parvati succeeded in marryingin marrying Lord Shiva after doing penance with staunch determination as Devi Brahamcharini, we can also attain what we desire with strong determination. 

Worshipping Goddess Brahmacharini is believed to improve willpower and help achieve higher positions. It also brings blessings from the Goddess. This practice is followed in several temples across India on the second day of Navaratri. Goddess Brahmacharini is also associated with the Swadisthana Chakra of Kundalini.

Mantra of Devi Brahmacharini

ॐ देवी ब्रह्मचारिण्यै नम:
Oṃ Devi Brahmachariṇyai Namaḥ

दधाना करपद्माभ्यामक्षमालाकमण्डलू।
देवी प्रसीदतु मयि ब्रह्मचारिण्यनुत्तमा॥

Dadhanaa kara padhmaabhyam akshaymala kamandala
Devi prasidatu mayi Brahmacharini ayanuttama
या देवी सर्वभू‍तेषु माँ ब्रह्मचारिणी रूपेण संस्थिता।
नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमो नमः॥

Ya devi sarv bhuteshu maa brahamcharini roopen sansthita
Namastasye namastasye namastasye namo namah


The Brahmacharini Devi Durga Temple is situated at Panchganga Ghat, Ghasi Tola, Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh.


People can worship any fruit, sweets, and orange coloured articles to the Goddess. Since Mata Brahamcharini survived on Bel patra during her penance, it is considered auspicious to offer Bel patra to the Goddess.

Lucky colour of Devi Brahamcharini

According to tradition, orange is the auspicious colour associated with Devi Brahmacharini. Since she embodies wisdom, higher knowledge, determination, and focus, orange, a pure and virtuous colour often associated with ascetics and saints, is considered lucky for the Devi. To seek blessings from the goddess, one can offer prasadam and wear orange-colored clothes.

May the blessings of Devi Brahmacharini guide us towards unwavering devotion and spiritual growth. Let the teachings of Devi Brahmacharini inspire us to remain determined in our goals and firm in our determination. As we complete our prayers, let us carry her divine energy within us and continue to walk the path of righteousness with faith and dedication. Jai Maa Brahmacharini!


Brahmacharini, the second form of Goddess Durga, is worshipped on the second day of Navaratri. She symbolizes a devoted female student living in an Ashrama with her Guru. Brahmacharini, an aspect of Parvati, symbolizes determination and success in our endeavours.