Exploring the World of Astrology at Home: A Comprehensive Guide

Indian Astrology | 27-Jun-2024

Views: 181

Astrology is an ancient practice that interprets the influence of celestial bodies on human affairs and natural phenomena. Whether you are a novice curious about the stars or someone seeking to deepen your understanding, this guide will provide a structured approach to learning astrology at home.

Introduction of astrology

Astrology is both a science and an art that has fascinated humanity for millennia. It seeks to understand and interpret the relationship between the cosmos and the individual. By examining the positions and movements of celestial bodies, astrologers believe they can give insight into a person’s character, behavior, and destiny.

Historical background

Astrology has roots that go back thousands of years with evidence of its practice found in ancient civilizations such as Babylon, Egypt, and Greece. Each culture contributed to the development of astrology, refining techniques and interpretations.

The Basics of Astrology

Understanding astrology requires familiarity with several core components: zodiac signs, planets, houses and aspects.

Zodiac sign:

The zodiac signs are divided into twelve signs each associated with specific personality traits and characteristics. The signs are:

  1. Aries ( ruled by mars)
  2. Taurus ( ruled by Venus)
  3. Gemini ( ruled by mercury)
  4. Cancer ( ruled by the moon)
  5. Leo ( ruled by the sun )
  6. Virgo (ruled by mercury)
  7.  Libra (ruled by Venus)
  8. Scorpio ( ruled by mars)
  9. Sagittarius ( ruled by Jupiter)
  10.  Capricorn ( ruled by Saturn)
  11.   Aquarius (ruled by Saturn)
  12. Pisces (ruled by Jupiter)


In astrology planets are seen as influences that affect various aspects of our lives. each planet governs different aspects:

  • Sun: Represents the self , ego, fame  and identity.
  • Moon: Governs emotions and instincts.
  • Mercury: Influences communication and intellect.
  • Venus: Associated with love, beauty, and harmony.
  • Mars: Governs action, energy, and desire.
  • Jupiter: Symbolizes growth, expansion, and abundance.
  • Saturn: Represents discipline, responsibility, and limitations.
  • Rahu: Fallacious reasoning, mobility, travels, foreign travel.
  • Ketu: Tantra, sudden events, inauspicious religious activities


The astrological chart is divided into twelve houses, each representing different areas of life:

  • First house: Self , appearance, and beginnings
  • Second house: Finances, values, and possessions.
  • Third house: Communication, siblings, and local travel.
  •  Fourth house: Home, family, and roots.
  • Fifth house: Creativity, romance, and children
  •  Sixth house: Partnerships and marriage.
  • Eighth house: Transformation, death and shared resources.
  • Ninth house: Philosophy, travel, and higher education.
  • Tenth house: Career, public image, and reputation.
  • Eleventh house: Friendships, groups, and profit.
  • Twelfth house: Subconscious, secrets and endings.


Aspects are the angles between planets that describe the relationship and energy exchange between them. The major aspects are:

  • Conjunction (0 degree): Planets are close together, blending their energies
  • Sexitile (60 degree): Positive, harmonious interaction.
  • Square (90 degree): Tension and challenges.
  • Trine (120 degree): Flowing, easy energy.
  •  Opposition (180 degree): Polarized forces needing balance.

Types of Astrology

Astrology has various branches, each with unique methodologies and cultural backgrounds.

  • Western astrology: The most form in the western world; it uses the tropical zodiac and focuses on the individual’s birth chart.
  • Vedic astrology: Originating in India, Vedic astrology ( jyotish) uses the sidereal zodiac and places a strong emphasis on the karmic aspects of the chart and predictive techniques.
  • Chinese astrology: Based on a twelve year cycle, each year is associated with an animal sign and element. It emphasizes personality and compatibility.

How to Learn Vedic Astrology

Vedic astrology is a system of astrology that originated in india. It is based on the belief that the position of other planets and stars at the time of a person’s birth can influence his life. Vedic astrology is used to predict future events, understand personality traits and make decisions about career, relationships and health. Vedic astrology courses is a comprehensive online astrology course that teaches the fundamentals of vedic astrology. Learning astrology for free can be a rewarding endeavor. Here are some steps and resources to help you get started to learn vedic astrology online at home:

Tools and resources for learning  unlocking your potential

    • Online courses : Future point provides you online astrology courses with online astrology classes by best and well experienced astrologers. The courses are divided into levels, each level covering a different aspect of vedic astrology. By learning these online astrology courses you can see your horoscope, your family members and friends horoscope. You can do social service through astrology. 
    • Books and study material : They provide free study material (books and all) by post on time. And offer certificates after completion of courses. Apart from doing successful fortune telling, you can get many other benefits.
  • Videos and PPT: Provide free astrological videos online. These videos are very simple and beneficial, with these videos you can learn astrology at home easily. The main reason for praising these videos is our many years of experience in teaching astrology . you can get PPT and each class recording , which will stay with you lifelong .
  • Software and app: To learn astrology at home, get Leostar professional grade astrological software, create birth charts and access a wide range of astrological tools. And you can get a free Leostar kundli app on your mobile with courses. A free vedic astrology that you can use to cast charts and practice your skills .

Practical steps to study astrology

  • Setting up a study plan: Create a schedule that allows you to systematically study different aspects of astrology. Dedicate time each week to reading, practicing chart interpretation, and engaging with astrology communities.
  • Learning the symbols and terminology: Memorize the symbols for zodiac signs, planets, aspects and houses. Understanding these symbols is crucial for reading and interpreting charts.
  • Chart reading practice: Start your own birth chart. Identify the positions of planets, their aspects, and the influence of each house. Gradually move on to the charts of friends and family to gain more practice.

Applying your knowledge

  •  Interpreting birth charts: Analyze the positions of the sun, moon, and planets in the signs and houses. Interpret their aspects to understand the dynamics of a person’s life and personality.
  • Predictive astrology: Learn techniques like transits, progressions and solar returns to make predictions, and solar returns to make predictions about future events and trends in a person’s life.
  • Relationship astrology: Explore synastry and composite charts to understand relationship dynamics and compatibility between individuals.

Ethical considerations

Astrology should be practiced with respect and sensitivity. Avoid making deterministic or fatalistic predictions. Use your knowledge to empower and guide rather than to create fear or dependence.


Learning astrology at home is a rewarding and enriching endeavor. With dedication and the right resources, you can develop a deep understanding of this ancient art and its applications in modern life. Remember to approach your studies with an open mind and a sense of wonder, allowing the stars to guide you on your astrological journey.